Our Staff Team | St. John's Anglican Church Highton Geelong

Our Staff Team

The ministry at St. John's is a shared ministry, including our Staff Team, Wardens, Parish Council and Ministry Co-ordinators.


Rev. Will Orpwood - Vicar

Will was inducted as Vicar of St. John's in January 2009.

Will is married to Leisha and they have five children. Both have a passion for the local church and working in parish ministry.

Will trained at Moore Theological College and served in curacies in Sydney at Quakers Hill Anglican Church and Naremburn Cammeray Anglican Church.

He has a passion for teaching and preaching, and he also enjoys most sports, but now just as a spectator rather than as a participant. Will loves cooking and reading and going to the theatre.

lynch family 400px.jpg

Rev. Chris Lynch - Associate Minister

Chris joined St John's staff in January 2018. He is married to Amanthi, and they have 2 children, Rose and Isaiah.

Chris values the influence of Deakin Uni CU and ministry experience at GWAC in his growth as a Christian. Through that period God put on his heart a desire to go into full-time ministry.

After spending some time working in industry he completed his theological studies at Ridley College and commenced a curacy at St Luke's Anglican Church Frankston in 2013. His responsibilities there included Music, Youth, and Children's and Families ministry, as well as preaching, Bible Study leading with Amanthi, and helping lead a Men's Ministry team.

He enjoys good coffee, sneaking Richmond Tigers references into his sermons, record shops and music, and seeing people turn their hearts to Jesus.

Parish Administrator - Shelley Duff

Shelley is a long term member of St Johns, until recently an active Church Warden and primary school Chaplain. She is married to Andrew; their four kids are mostly grown up. In her staff team role, Shelley works alongside Will and Chris in an administrative and pastoral care capacity.

You can find her in the office on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday from 9.00am - 1pm.

Core Lay Leadership Team

Wardens: Jake Laine and Julie Campbell

Parish Council: Dennis Grinter (Treasurer), Malinda Meredith, Stacey Gibbs and James Walker